My Attention

She demands
every ounce of my attention
Truth is
I wouldn’t offer any less
At times
Just sitting back and watching her                                                                                   Has a way of bringing out my best

Often I wonder how I got here
It just doesn’t matter anymore
Was it luck or was it fate I fell upon
The road that leads to you

Some people
have a way with money
With that
I’ve had no luck
Some seem
to have a way with love
With what you’ve given me
Feels like
I’m worth ten million bucks

I give her
every ounce of my attention
She won’t
accept any less
At times
I just stare in awe and watch her
She takes care of all the rest

Often I wonder
How this path led me to you
It’s the one road I’ve ever travelled
Not tinged by some regret

If she didn’t stop me
cold in my tracks
When our stars aligned
Who knows where you’d find me
Wasting precious time
Looking for the road that leads to you

Leave a Reply

